Home People

Who we are?

LaMP is a partnership among scientists at the Terry Fox Laboratory (TFL) at BC Cancer and physicians at the Leukemia and Bone Marrow Transplant (L/BMT) Program of BC and BC Cancer. Interested parties are welcome to inquire.

The administrative unit of LaMP is based in the Terry Fox Laboratory (TFL) at BC Cancer. Drs. Pamela Hoodless, Director of the TFL, and Florian Kuchenbauer, Member of the L/BMT Program of BC, will oversee the scientific and clinical programs, respectively.  Drs. Aly Karsan, Andrew Weng and Amanda Kotzer, Program Manager, will work with all members to guide LaMP disease teams.

Program Leaders

Pamela Hoodless, PhD


Dr. Hoodless completed her PhD at Queen’s University at Kingston Ontario, followed by postdoctoral work at Rockefeller University in New York, and The Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto. She is currently a Distinguished Scientist and the Director of the Terry Fox Laboratory at BC Cancer. She is a Professor at the University of British Columbia in the Department of Medical Genetics. Her lab focuses on using state of the art genomic technologies to shed new light on developmental gene networks by using whole tissue and single cell analyses of gene expression, transcription factor function and epigenetic mechanisms.

Florian Kuchenbauer, MD PhD

Steering Committee Member

Dr. Kuchenbauer received his MD education at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich, Germany in 2001 and completed a PhD degree at the Terry Fox Laboratory, BC Cancer and the University of British Columbia under the supervision of Dr. Keith Humphries in 2009. After establishing his research and clinical program in the Bone Marrow Transplantation Unit at the University of Ulm in Germany he returned to Vancouver in 2018 and is currently a Senior Scientist in the Terry Fox Laboratory and a Clinical Scientist in the Leukemia and Bone Marrow Transplant program of BC. Dr. Kuchenbauer’s research program focusing on analyzing clinical factors and outcomes to improve local patient treatments as well as taking advantage of preclinical animal to better understand the physiology of normal and malignant hematopoiesis.

Aly Karsan, MD

Steering Committee Member

After receiving his MD from Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario, Dr. Karsan practiced medicine in rural British Columbia and the Northwest Territories and as a volunteer with Médecins Sans Frontières. He completed his residency in Hematological Pathology at the University of British Columbia followed by a Research Fellowship at the University of Washington. Currently Dr. Karsan is Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the University of British Columbia, and Distinguished Scientist at the Michael Smith Genome Sciences Centre, BC Cancer. For the past 10 years he served as Medical Director of the Centre for Clinical Genomics at BC Cancer. As a clinician-scientist, Dr. Karsan has two major areas of research interest: 1. Developing and implementing genomic technologies for clinical diagnostics; 2. Translational research in leukemia and other blood cancers to understand how patients become resistant to therapy.

Andrew Weng, MD PhD

Steering Committee Member

Dr. Weng received his MD and PhD from the University of Chicago. Dr. Weng is now both a Distinguished Scientist at the Terry Fox Laboratory and a Clinical Hematopathologist at the BC Cancer Agency, and also a holds a Professor position in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the University of British Columbia. Dr. Weng is the Directors of both the Clinical Flow Cytometry Laboratory and Research Flow Cytometry Core Facility, and Medical Director of the Stem Cell Assay Clinical Lab at BC Cancer. His research program focuses on the pathogenesis of lymphoid malignancy specifically exploring the role of NOTCH1, an oncogenes/tumor suppressor gene, and the use of state-of-the-art mass cytometry (CyTOF) to obtain highly resolved phenotypic maps of heterogeneous cell populations present in leukemia patient samples.

Amanda Kotzer, PhD PMP

Program Manager

Dr. Kotzer has over 12 years of experience in research, operations and administration management in an academic environment. After completing her PhD in the cell and molecular biology in the UK and a postdoctoral fellowship at UBC, she traded the lab bench for an office and is currently the Research Projects & Operations Leader of the Terry Fox Laboratory at the BC Cancer. She has been the Program Manager of LaMP since inception in 2018.

Additional Team Members

Peter Stirling, PhD

Team Member

Ly Vu, PhD

Team Member

David Stanford, MD

Team Member

Kevin Hay, MD MSc

Team Member

Xiaoyan Jiang, PhD

Team Member

Keith Humphries, MD PhD

Team Member

Peter Lansdorp, MD PhD

Team Member

Ciara Freeman, MD

Team Member

Connie Eaves, PhD

Team Member
Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news & events from LaMP!
No Thanks
Thanks for signing up. You must confirm your email address before we can send you. Please check your email and follow the instructions.
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.